Black People Are Not Beyond Reproach. We Have To be the Change for Others that We Desire for Us.

The Wicked Orchard by Sidra Owens
8 min readMay 15, 2024
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Earlier today, I wrote an article entitled, “I Have No Empathy for Black Folks with No Empathy.” I have gotten a couple of responses, but there is one in particular that I’d like to dissect. When I do go over responses, I do not mention the name of the responder because I don’t think it’s necessary. But if one person is responding to this article in a certain fashion, then you best believe, others may. So, I think it’s necessary to clarify any misconceptions.

The commenter wrote:

I do not subscribe to the social narrative that Black people hate gay people. In fact, it is really a LIE. I think that most Black gay males would not be here if Black Women, in particular, hated them. Plus, the fact that there Still is a Sizable part of the BC who believes in and live closely by the Bible — do you think that that population would just open their arms and say it is okay? That alone should be Understandable, but I Digress.

Let’s be clear. I never said that Black people, in general as a race, hate members of LGBTQIA+ community. What I did say is that there is a certain segment of the Black populous that does have disdain for the LGBTQIA+ community. Although many Black women are highly accepting of the LGBTQIA+ community, Black women are not…

--

--